Our History

First Presbyterian Church was formed on August 15, 1841, by two ministers and five others committed to the Presbyterian faith. Some of our current members are descended from these founders.

The worship area of the present church was built in 1905, the previous building having been destroyed by the "Great Fire" of 1904. It was designed to seat 600, if needed, by means of mechanically raising the wall which divides the sanctuary and chapel areas.

The sanctuary as it is most often used seats 294 in the "theater" seats the 1904 congregation voted 165-126 to install rather than conventional pews. A unique feature of the sanctuary is that each seat directly faces the pulpit, from which the Word of God is faithfully proclaimed.

The educational annex was built in 1952 and also houses the church offices, fellowship hall, kitchen, restrooms, classrooms, conference room, and nursery. It was recently renovated in 2021. 

In July 1973, the congregation voted overwhelmingly to request dismissal "from the Presbyterian Church in the United States to a Presbytery to be formed," thus becoming a charter member of the denomination now known as the Presbyterian Church in America.


The conflagration left most of Yazoo City in ruins, including this structure at the southwest corner of Main and Broadway. A new church building, our current meeting place, was erected in 1905 on the corner of North Washington Street and Powell.

Learn More

Photo provided by Nettie Clark Byrd.